Views of the user database

In User Management, the ‘Select View’ search box gives authorized users the option to see these views of the user database:

  • Current View
  • Past View
  • All View
  • Deleted Users
  • Unexpired Guests

‘Current View’ is the default.

The search boxes (Enter keyword etc) are the same in all views, except for the ‘Select Status’ search box. The ‘Select Status’ search box lists only the statuses appropriate to the view. For instance, if you have selected ‘Past View’, the ‘Select Status’ search box lists only ‘Rejected’ and ‘Expired’ statuses.

Current View

Current View is the main working view for the Membership Secretary. It contains all members, guests and applicants who are current i.e. who have not expired, or been rejected or deleted.

Applicants appear in Current View as soon as they submit their membership application form. Guests appear in Current View as soon as they book on an activity. Guests generally apply for membership, and thus become Applicants, a few months after their first activity. If a guest does not apply for membership, the System moves them from Current View to Past View 12 months after they first booked on an activity. Members who renew their membership annually remain in Current View. If a member does not renew, the System Members moves them from Current View to Past View 12 months after their approval date or renewal date.

Life Members and Institutional Members do not expire. They remain in Current View until the Membership Secretary or other authorised user deletes them.

Past View

Past View contains all users who have expired, or been rejected or deleted by the Membership Secretary or other authorized Committee Member.

The ‘Select Status’ search box in Past View allows you to see a list of all Rejected or all Expired users.  If you want to see a list of all Deleted users, use Select View > Deleted users.

All View

Contains all users.

Deleted Users

Contains only deleted users.

Unexpired Guests

Contains current guests. This view is a short-cut – you can see the same list by setting ‘Select a role’ to Guest and setting ‘Select Status’ to ‘Approved’.

Frequently asked questions

Q Does the System ever lose a user?

A No. As a safety measure, once a user has been listed on the database, they are listed on the database forever. The ‘worst’ that can happen to them is rejection or deletion; both of these actions can be reversed by the Membership Secretary or other authorised user. If you can’t find a user that you think should be on the database, see the User Management help page for searching.

Q How do I move a user from one view to another view?

A By using the action buttons for Reject (or Approve to reverse a rejection), Delete or Undelete.

Q Can I un-expire a user?

A No, see the help page on User Management actions.

Mother shield fern, Tallaganda State Forest, by John Evans

Mother shield fern, Tallaganda State Forest, by John Evans