

Past Committee members

he Club would not function effectively without the dedicated persons volunteering their time and expertise on the Club's Committee. Committee positions have varied over time and there have been some interesting sub-committees. Interestingly, in the Minutes of the General Meeting of 21 November 1962 Julie Henry recommended the purchase of an Italian hemp rope costing about 5 pounds. After long discussion it was decided to form a sub-committee to discuss the issue.

At the meeting on 23 January 1963 a Rope Committee was appointed, with Gösta Lyngå appointed as convenor. Other members were: Julie Henry, Geoff Mosley, Peter Hancock and David Prosser. A letter from the rope subcommittee in January 1963 advised the Club to buy a 120 foot nylon rope, extra weight, from Britain.

And we thought today's Committee members had enough decisions to make.

Today's Committee has expanded to cover the many aspects in which the Club is involved, with the recent addition of Web Manager. However, two key positions are the President and the Walks Secretary. While in the first year the Club seemed to function without a Walks Secretary, it certainly wouldn't today, and of course, the President is the driving force behind the Committee. Looking back through the archives, Rob Horsfield has most often held the position of Walks Secretary. Under the Club's constitution, the President can only hold the position for two consecutive years. In the early years this position seemed to change every year but in the later years it became more common for the position to be held for the two year limit allowed under the Constitution. The title of longest serving President is shared by Rene Davies and Stan Marks, both with four years of service in this position.

The full list of the holders of President and Walks Secretary for the past 50 years follows below:

Year	President	Walks Secretary	Year	President	Walks Secretary
1961/62	Jack Leslie (A/g)	N/A	1986/87	Rene Davies	Alan Vidler
1962/63	Geoff Mosley	N/A	1987/88	Greg Ellis	George Carter
1963/64	Geoff Marston	Dave Gibson	1988/89	Anton Cook	Mike Morriss
1964/65	Harry Black	Harriet McInnes	1989/90	David Campbell	Alan Vidler
1965/66	Doug Wright	Miep Molijn	1990/91	David Campbell	Allan Mikkelsen
1966/67	John Wanless	Sybil Story	1991/92	Allan Mikkelsen	Chris Leslie
1967/68	John Cashman	Sue Brierley	1992/93	Allan Mikkelsen	Gerald Dodgson
1968/69	Sybil Story	Jim Collins	1993/94	Gerald Dodgson	Maurice Wicks
1969/70	John Hogan	Karl Sienkouski	1994/95	Janet Edstein	Alan Vidler
1970/71	Campbell McKnight	Frank Rigby	1995/96	Janet Edstein	Paul Rustomji
1971/72	Robin Miller	Adrian Hobbs	1996/97	Chris Roper	Paul Rustomji
1972/73	Peter van der Duys	Richard Kemmis	1997/98	Chris Roper	Allan Mikkelsen
1973/74	Dave Whiteley	Dan Buchler	1998/99	Alan Vidler	Rob Horsfield
1974/75	Richard Kemmis	Terry Jordan	1999/00	Terence Uren	Rob Horsfield
1975/76	Alan Vidler	Gary Medaris	2000/01	Terence Uren	Rob Horsfield
1976/77	Wendy Davidson	Jenny Bauer Jeff Bennetts	2001/02	Jenny Horsfield	Meg McKone
			2002/03	Jenny Horsfield	Meg McKone
1977/78	Henry Burmester	Ann Gibbs-Jordan	2003/04	Stan Marks	Rob Horsfield
1978/79	Henry Burmester	Tim Wright	2004/05	Stan Marks	Rob Horsfield
1979/80	Penny Le Couteur	Rod Peters	2005/06	Rene Davies	Rob Horsfield
1980/81	Rod Peters	Ann Gibbs-Jordan	2006/07	Rene Davies	Rob Horsfield
1981/82	Ann Gibbs-Jordan	John Street	2007/08	Stan Marks	Rob Horsfield
1982/83	Alison McKenzie	Alan Vidler	2008/09	Stan Marks	Rob Horsfield
1983/84	Melanie O'Flynn	David Truman	2009/10	Peter Jones	Jeff Bennetts
1984/85	Alan Vidler	David Truman	2010/11	Peter Jones	Rob Horsfield
1985/86	Rene Davies	Bob Harrison	2011/12	Phillip Starr	Rob Horsfield